Heritage uncovered

After the destruction of the Finlay Market in 1906, the location was used as a place to park coaches and cabs during the 20th century. By then, it was surrounded by stores and hotels. Although the Batterie Royale had been forgotten and buried for two centuries at this point, a large-scale archaeological excavation was launched to uncover its foundations. The Batterie was then entirely reconstructed, in memory of the French Regime and to recreate how Place-Royale looked before it came under British rule.

slide image 0
Finlay Market Square, circa 1915. Archives de la ville de Québec, Thaddée Lebel, P037-N0176-N017637. Nowadays, the buildings on the left are gone. They have been replaced by the restored Batterie Royale.
slide image 1
Archaeological research at the site of the Batterie Royale. Archives nationales à Québec, E6,S10,SS3,D1.